EEA/ Norway Grants

EEA/ Norway Grants is based on the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement and is Norway’s contribution to the EU’s efforts to reduce social and economic disparities in Europe and strengthening cooperation between the European countries.

Beneficiary countries under EEA/ Norway Grants are: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain. 

Beneficiary countries are responsible for planning, implementing and follow-up of the projects and programmes. Funding is allocated to cooperation projects initiated by institutions in the beneficiary countries. Norwegian institutions can benefit from the support by becoming a partner in such cooperation project.

The main priorities of the EEA and Norway Grants are as follows:

  1. Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness
  2. Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction
  3. Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy
  4. Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance, and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms
  5. Justice and Home Affairs

Based on these priorities, each beneficiary country agrees on a set of programmes according to the country priorities and needs. The individual Memorandum of Understanding is signed with each country and sets out specific concerns, priorities and guidelines for each individual programme.

When the programmes are established and confirmed, responsible institutions in the beneficiary countries announce calls for proposals.

For more information:

EEA and Norway Grants website

The Research Council of Norway

The Norwegian Government

Sist oppdatert av Vilija Duleviciute (11.04.2018)

Skriv ut artikkel print symbol